Friday, November 14, 2014

Day 305: Flexi Friday


Reporting on the splits.  Keeping myself accountable.  I stretch these (quickly) almost every day.  And I do see some improvement.  A teenager's body would've nailed these already, but my old achy hips are slow to stretch.  That's ok.  Progress is progress, people. Don't mind the crazy workout hair...

RIGHT

almost 3 weeks ago



today - lower, better!




LEFT

almost 3 weeks ago



today - back leg straighter!



CENTER

almost 3 weeks ago



today - slightly lower, chest up higher

Thursday, October 30, 2014

Day 290: Getting a baseline

The second of my running goals, if you remember, was to run a mile in 8 minutes.  Honestly, the last time I did such a thing was probably in 1993.  But nonetheless.  Since I have been working on the 5k time for awhile, I haven't really run one single mile to test out where I currently stand.  So today I thought I would give it a go.  I learned a few things.

1)  next time pick a route with no uphills
2)  also pick a route where there is no crossing the street wildly in front of traffic so as to not mess up your time
3)  it's too cold for me.  I'm still thawing.
4)  I'm still not as fast as I was when I was 10 or 16

But I did it.  I think I probably could have gone a smidge faster, but for a baseline run, I did ok.  8 minutes and 35 seconds.  Maybe I'll try once or twice more if the weather warms up again, but I have a feeling that we are mostly on pause with this until spring.  Now, who can tell me how to shave 35 seconds off of a mile?

Monday, October 27, 2014

Day 287: Back to the Splits

Latest update.  I decided not to run in the 5k that I had mentioned.  My goal was never to do a race.  My goal was to run a 5k in under 30 minutes.  And I have now proven that to myself multiple times.  And that's good enough for me.  I don't need the t-shirt.  Thank you anyway.  My boys had their last soccer game and we took a lovely family day trip to Cooperstown instead.

So now that the weather is beginning to turn (again- no one will get me to run in the cold...), I feel like I can get off of running for a bit and onto another goal that I still haven't accomplished.  The splits.  I have not been stretching my splits for months so I though that I would see where that left me today.  There is lots of stretching in my Piyo workouts, so I knew I wouldn't be back to square one, but I definitely have regressed and have some serious work to do.  I would like to be able to check these off by the winter, so... may the stretching re-commence!
 

Where I last left off:


And today:


right

left

center

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Day 274: Balance

I was away this past weekend.  For a long 4 day, sans-kids, New England autumn expedition.  It was wonderful.  Saw a favorite old friend, didn't have to worry about feeding anyone else or driving to whatever game there might be at whatever schedule was set for me.  But what I took most away from this trip was balance.

Life is too short not to eat the fried dough.  I am a healthy eater 95% of the time.  So I think that I have set myself up for the allowance of the country fair food every once in awhile.  Today though, salad.  :)

I am a power exerciser.  Fast, sweaty, get-er-done mentality.  But I had a lovely hour and a half long slow-flow yoga session facing the white mountains which forced me to calm my body.

My normal "relaxing" Sunday would be parked in front of the tv, cuddled on the couch with a warm blanket watching football.  But there we were 7:30 am on Sunday, hiking up a mountain.  It was beautiful and relaxing in an entirely different way.

I loved having adult time with no schedules, but missed my kids terribly and was glad to get home to them even if just as I pulled in the driveway, one came around the corner with a big black eye caused by the other one.

So I say, LIVE.  Do the mountain yoga, bounce like a crazy person in your living room, eat the salad AND the fried dough.   And be happy with the balance.



 

Friday, October 3, 2014

Day 263: Aerial Yoga

Yep, you heard me.  AERIAL Yoga, people.

I used to hate yoga, because apparently the only yoga I had ever tried was slow, granola, breathe deeply and don't move for 10 minutes yoga.  And I have an exercise (and life?) attention span of about 30 seconds.  But then I found a more active type of yoga.  With lots of core, movement, balance and sweat.

In August, a friend and I took an Aerials class with the Cirque Eloise at Proctors.  And now when I grow up, I want to be a circus performer.  The one who does those high graceful poses on the silks.  Or "tissues" as the French speaking instructors called them.  I was so in my element.  I could have stayed there all day twirling away on those silks.

(excuse fuzzy iphone pics.  Also I was twirling, and therefore hard to capture)





Shortly thereafter, another dear, dear friend gave me a gift certificate for my birthday for 3 classes of Aerial Yoga at Good Karma Studio in Albany.  AERIAL YOGA.  I didn't even know that that existed.  Obviously she knows me well.  I was thrilled to tears.  For real.  And I finally got to try it out today.  

So I will try to explain.  There was a fabric hammock type deal which the owner/instructor, Jessica, calls the swing.  Which you can sit in, lay on, extend limbs into and flip upside down holding onto it with your legs.  There are pictures of what I mean on the website.  We spent the first ten minutes of the class upside down hanging from this piece of fabric and simultaneously doing yoga breathing and stretches.  If you can get past the first 2-3 minutes of the blood head rush, it actually settles down quite nicely.  Apparently they say that you can clear your head and focus, yoga-style, much more easily when you are inverted.  

Obviously I couldn't take a pic of myself.  So here are some other random ladies doing Their inverted thing.


I'm pretty sure that I stretched muscles today that haven't moved in 25 years.  It was unlike anything I have ever done, and you know I loved it.  Every stretchy, balance challenging second.  And I can't wait to go back.  It's really just a massive shame that this studio isn't much, much closer to me. I think I could become a very frequent customer.  Let me know if anyone ever wants to go give it a try.  Jessica offers drop in classes.  You can just sign up online.  


Monday, September 29, 2014

Day 259: Check one more off

I've been trying hard to keep up with my running this month, because, let's not lie, the perfect weather is not long before us.  And also, I want to be done with it already.  Just in case you were not yet aware (head under a rock?), I dislike running, and I'm slow.  But it's in my goals. (5k in under 30 minutes)

There is a local 5k at the end of October here, so I've decided to aim for that.  I've been doing short runs (2 miles, 2.5) and a few longer slow ones thrown in there to get ready.  And I have come across the course map so I thought that maybe I could try that out a few times before the actual event.  

Today I decided to run part of the course.  Leaving out the uphill section, duh.   But I was feeling pretty good.  And my iphone music shuffle was hooking me up.  So I decided to keep going.  As I rounded the last curve to my car, I checked the time.  I hadn't checked yet and I was not assuming anything.  But there it was, 29:30.  And I knew that I would have to bust my butt.  I'm not sure that there was any way physically possible that I could have actually gotten to my end point in 30 seconds from where I was, but I was determined to try.   I didn't make it.  Whomp Whomp.  I got to the car at 30:30.  

So I got home actually still pretty proud of myself.  3.1 miles in 30:30 is not bad.  And I'm sure with a few more tries I could do it in under 30.  Then I went on MapMyRun to log my workout.  And guess what!  Turns out that I ran 3.16 miles.  What?!?  With a bit of algebra, I found out that if I ran 3.16 miles in 30:30, then I ran 3.1 miles in 29:55.  Bam.  That's what happens when you bust your butt.  

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Day 241: Sweat

Piyo "Sweat" workout:

Yep, look at that nose bead.  Truth.
That is all.


Monday, September 8, 2014

Day 238: Summer Update

What I've learned this summer is this:  summer will never be about me.  Summer for my family is a bit hectic.   Clearly there's no time for blogging.  My oldest son plays a lot of very competitive baseball and as it turns out, his team is pretty good.  So that translates to 95% of my summer days being at one baseball field or another.  Not complaining, I love baseball and of course my kids come first.  Just stating the facts.

It's also really hard to eat well in the summer, right??  I'm never home and I assure you that concession stands do not sell my type of food.  But I did my best.  Definitely gained a few pounds, but now that routine is here again, I'm not so worried about it.  My food mentality is to try to eat as much "real food" as possible.  I will not deprive myself of (a little bit of) homemade mac-n-cheese, but I'm not eating Kraft out of a box.  I need to eat every few hours and keep portions in control.  Fill the ice cream bowl 3/4 up with fruit.  And scoop a tiny bit of chocolate frozen yogurt on top.  That sort of thing.

Confession:  I did not manage to run more than 3 times this entire summer.  BUT, I did manage to sneak in another (almost) full round of P90X3.  I had a friend who wanted to do the workout with me, so we did it together all summer long.  I will not get to finish the last few weeks with her because of our schedule conflicts now that school is back, but I'm ok with that because I did finish it the first time.

I'm very excited right now to start the next phase of my exercise journey: PIYO.  This is a series developed from pilates and yoga with some strength and cardio mixed in.  Right up my alley.  I did the first intro video today, and just from what I saw today, I can tell that I will love it.  I also started the running again.  Only did two miles today, but it wasn't bad and I didn't hate it.  And that's always a victory for me.

In other news, my 39th birthday has now come and gone, so I am now less than a year out from 40.  326 days left to complete my original goals list.

goals abbreviated
20 push-ups
5 pull-ups
addendum: 10 pull ups
bar hang 90sec
right split
left split
center split
bridge
standing split
scorpion
press handstand
run 5k 30 min
run 1 mile 8 min

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Day 136: Pull-Up-date

My goal was 5 pull ups by age 40.  Real ones.  None of this chin up business.

And I think that a video update is probably the easiest way to see how far I've come with this.

BEFORE (Day 0):
Oh dear.  My 16 year old self would be horrified.


NOW (video taken on Day 121):
Don't mind the grunting and the face.  Those are required for pull-ups.  It's in the rule book.



What to do when one has accomplished a goal 1 year and 2 months too early?  Increase it, of course!!
10 pull-ups by age 40.  Wish me luck!

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Day 121: What's next?

So I finished P90X3!  With absolutely no excuses.  Didn't miss a day.  Not for my grandmother's wake or funeral.  Not for the day of my sister's wedding.  Not for the day after my sister's wedding.  Even did a few rounds of MMX fighting with a migraine.  Which really just goes to show how much of exercise is mental.  I just need a good shove and a written public commitment from myself.  And it will get done.

So now what?  Well, I have decided that the weather is starting to cooperate for running outside again.  And that I really need to get back to that.  I have kind of devoted myself fully to the P90X3 workouts and skipped out on the running part for a long time now.  With good reason, trust me.  But there are no more excuses for that anymore either.  So I think I will start myself back up on the Couch to 5k program that I have done before.  Lots of interval training which is good for me.  And knowing that not every day is a great day for running (let's be honest NO ONE is going to get me to run in the rain), I'm going to be simultaneously doing the next round of P90X3 (Lean) on the other days.  So this round of P90X3 will take far longer than 90 days.  But I'm totally ok with that.  And this is my new accountability group folks, so make sure you check in on me.  Especially with the running...

And now onto the fun before and after pics.  I am by no means claiming that I was large or overweight before this.  It's just that over the past few years, I had become slightly "doughy".  When I started this journey I was a size 4/6 and I have recently had to go buy new shorts and pants in sizes 4 and 2.  I have managed to get rid of most of the dreaded muffin top and have bought myself a hard earned "congrats for stickin' with it" bikini.  Which I may or may not be brave enough to wear.   :)


Back before and after

Front before and after

Side before and after

Fun afters!



Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Day 114: This Is My Jam

So last week I posted videos of a workout that I love but is very far outside my skill set and comfort zone.  Have you seen me trying to be an ultimate fighter?  Not so pretty.  Well... today was Pilates day and that, my friends, is where my skill set lies.  Balance, flexibility, core strength, and no punching things?  Yes please.  I used to do a Pilates class with a reformer machine.  The thing that looks like a medieval torture table.  And that is even harder and more fantastic.  But now I do my Pilates on a mat.  Much less expensive, I tell you.  But much more prone to butt bruising.   Oh well.

Most people have never ventured into Pilates world, so if you have ever wondered what it entails, I will show you.  Don't mind the rather loud breathing techniques.  That's actually imperative to the Pilates way of working out.  Just keepin' it real.









Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Day 107: I'm a lover...

... not a fighter.  CLEARLY.  But MMX was on my agenda yesterday.  My family laughs at my spazticity (yep, that's a word) when I'm doing this workout, but I love it.  Even if the kicking bits look more Rockette than street fighter.  And the punching bits look like they couldn't take out a 3rd grader.  At the beginning of the video, Tony says that the tip of the day is to "commit to the intensity".  And that part, my friends, I promise you I can do!

It starts off with little punchy parts like so...





progresses like so...



and by the end there are several rounds of kicking and punching burpees and I feel like PaRappa The Rapper on crack.  Yep bringing it waaay back.  Does anyone else remember that game?





Friday, April 18, 2014

Day 95: Pay it Forward

Yesterday someone held the door open for me.  A small gesture, but still one of the things in life that makes me happy on the inside.  I try to teach my boys to hold doors open for anyone and everyone who is coming or going.  One of them is better at it than the other, but we're working on it.  But it brought me back to a couple of my favorite good deed memories that I thought I would share.

Once, when I was a young mommy carrying a baby in one arm and pushing a Target cart with a toddler in it with the other, a woman about my age came up to me in the parking lot and said this, "I just want you to know that you look great today.  I'm not sure that we moms ever get enough credit for anything, but I just wanted you to know that you look really nice."  I had probably made an effort that morning to not appear rumpled and exhausted, and she noticed.  And that stuck with me.  One comment from one random person, years ago.  You never know how the the things you say will affect someone's life.  I always do my best to try to look nice in public.  I think that when people make the effort it expresses that they care about the world around them and that they are happy to be here.  Now don't get me wrong, I'm not judging anyone for running to Walmart in sweats, or standing at the bus stop in jammies.  I've been known to do that too.  :)

This next story brought tears to my eyes.  Still does, actually.  I was largely pregnant and standing in line at a coffee shop with my toddler who was having the patience of a saint while the man in a business suit in front of us ordered his fancy latte.  My child, eyes and hands pressed up against the glass, was desperate for his cookie and was being very vocal about it. "mom, I want THAT one".  "mom, is it our turn yet?" "mom, can I have the cookie now?"  etc etc.  Finally the coffee girl comes back with the man's complicated latte and he orders a cookie as well.  I think nothing of it.  He pays.  The he turns to my child, holds out the cookie and says, "This is for you.  For waiting so nicely to have your cookie."  He disappeared so quickly that I barely had time to thank him properly and the poor coffee girl was left to deal with my blubbering. Again - such a small gesture.  But totally unexpected and from a person who just by the looks of him could be easily misjudged.  You never know someone's whole story just by looking at them.

We have all had our share of bad stories too.  The person who yells at us for something, someone who cuts us off in traffic, the rude employee whom we just want to spank.  But I like to remember these stories instead.  And know that most people really are good deep inside.  On my journey to forty, I can only hope that I have affected a few people in ways that I will never know about.  Just like these two kind people did for me. And I hope that I can continue to do so.  So go about your day today everyone... and be nice.

Friday, March 28, 2014

Day 74: Flexi Friday

Guess what?  Taking a few weeks off of split stretching helped my splits!  Who knew.  Apparently I've been getting some secret stretching in from doing my workouts.  Here's today's right split.  It's possible that I started screaming out, "my crotch hit the floor!".


Yes I realize the back leg isn't straight, but dammit, my crotch hit the floor and that counts.  

Monday, March 24, 2014

Day 72: Goals Update

To summarize my original first post on this blog, here were the fitness goals that I listed in my ramblings:

goals abbreviated
20 push-ups
5 pull-ups
bar hang 90sec
right split
left split
center split
bridge
standing split
scorpion
press handstand
run 5k 30 min
run 1 mile 8 min

Looking back at them in list form, they seem sort of funny and random. But everyone has their own definitions of what makes them feel fit, and these, apparently, are mine.  So I'm sticking with them.  Here is the update so far:

goals progress
20 push ups - I'm sure I could do this now.  Just haven't gotten down and tried 20 in a row.  Mental note: when arms recover from the jello feeling that they have from this morning's eccentric upper workout, do 20 push-ups and document.  

5 pullups - I can do 3.  That's a huge improvement from 1/2 a pull-up a few months ago.

bar hang 90sec - Forgot about this one.  Will have to try soon.

right split - reeeallllly close.  I've taken a small hiatus from the splits because I have an aching hip joint.  But will get back to these soon.

left split - hmmmm...  I still hate the left.  

center split - again - much, much closer. (see last flexi-friday post) but taking a break to rest the hip.

bridge - I can do it now, it just isn't pretty... at all...

standing split - my balance has started to come back and I can now do this without holding on to the stair railing

scorpion - same as above

press handstand - my handstands in general are improving, but it's going to be a long time before I will actually be able to do this one again.

run 5k in 30 min &

run 1 mile in 8:23 min -  Now here's where I've been slacking.  As you all know, I don't love running anyway.  But I was doing it.  At the gym on a treadmill.  But my freebie gym membership that Jay won and donated to my cause has since expired.  And I thought... "Oh, no worries.  It will soon be spring, and I will be able to run outside".  And we all know where THAT has gotten us.  So I hope to be able to get outside at some point and being running again.  Maybe the snow will melt by July?  August??








Friday, March 7, 2014

Day 55: Favorites Friday

I've had a few rough migraine days.  So to keep myself in good spirits, today I will be discussing things that I love.  That's part of anyone's health journey, right?

THE SUN
I can't wait 'til spring forward every year. I don't even care if it means that I lose an hour of sleep.  If the sun is out, I'm like 1000% happier.



THE BEACH/THE OCEAN
I'm such a beach girl.  You can't pry me off of an ocean beach.  Or out of the water.  Unfortunately,  I was just was born with the wrong skin for it...





WATCHING MY BOYS PLAY
Sports, mud, frisbee...  whatever.  I'm happy when they're happy.




BRIGHT COLORS
I can't take another minute of my 95% black winter wardrobe.  I'm dying to be back in turquoise, yellow, and green.  I even painted my front door lime green and I love it.






FRIENDS
Love a good girls night.  No one makes me laugh harder than this bunch.



And I am so lucky to have these ladies as forever friends.  




FAMILY
Obviously. My family, husband, and children mean the world to me.  My parents are the epitome of happily married forever.  And seriously, my siblings and I have a bond that just can't be explained to most others.






COFFEE
I mean, really.  I'm never without a cup.  And I don't mean caffeine.  I can do without that.  In fact, most people would say that I SHOULD always do without caffeine.  I just love my cup of joe.  It is the one vice that I will not give up.  Ice cream, sure.  Cheese, ok, no problem.  But DO NOT try to take away my coffee.



WHITE TRIM
Nothing brightens up a room more than shiny white trim.  Watch out for me if you have dark wood trim.  I might show up at your house with a paintbrush in hand.




TWIRLING
I've been twirling since I was little.  In the kitchen, in the hallway, on the beach.  I don't see an end to this coming, ever.


Which of course leads to...

DANCING
It really bites my butt that I'm not a Fly Girl.  Or a ballerina.  Or just someone who can dance in general.  I love to dance (but alas... I can not) and have been know to bust into the running man at any moment (even if I might scare an innocent baby).






MAKING THINGS
Building furniture, sewing kids stuff, repainting, sanding, tiling...  Nothing makes me happier than when I'm in "project mode".  My mother calls me the energizer bunny.  And most people don't understand that resting for me is not actually restful.  I don't feel complete unless I am busy making something.





BRUSSEL SPROUTS
I could eat them every day.  But  maybe only 3-4 of them per day.  Because beyond that amount... well let's just say that they are clearly fullllll of fiber.



CERTAIN SONGS
You know the days when the radio station is just hooking you up and all the songs they're playing that day were obviously meant just for you? Those are my favorite days.  There are just some songs that when you hear them, all is well in the world.  You know what I'm saying, right?



BEING SILLY
If you know me, you know I'm a huge dork.  In a good way, I hope.  I will put on a costume for almost any occasion.  I'm not afraid of making a fool of myself and I'm very willing to be a bit immature for a good laugh.

 


Well, this post definitely served it's purpose.  I'm in a much better mood now.  And the sun is out!!  Enjoy today everyone!