There is a local 5k at the end of October here, so I've decided to aim for that. I've been doing short runs (2 miles, 2.5) and a few longer slow ones thrown in there to get ready. And I have come across the course map so I thought that maybe I could try that out a few times before the actual event.
Today I decided to run part of the course. Leaving out the uphill section, duh. But I was feeling pretty good. And my iphone music shuffle was hooking me up. So I decided to keep going. As I rounded the last curve to my car, I checked the time. I hadn't checked yet and I was not assuming anything. But there it was, 29:30. And I knew that I would have to bust my butt. I'm not sure that there was any way physically possible that I could have actually gotten to my end point in 30 seconds from where I was, but I was determined to try. I didn't make it. Whomp Whomp. I got to the car at 30:30.
So I got home actually still pretty proud of myself. 3.1 miles in 30:30 is not bad. And I'm sure with a few more tries I could do it in under 30. Then I went on MapMyRun to log my workout. And guess what! Turns out that I ran 3.16 miles. What?!? With a bit of algebra, I found out that if I ran 3.16 miles in 30:30, then I ran 3.1 miles in 29:55. Bam. That's what happens when you bust your butt.
No comments:
Post a Comment