Thursday, October 30, 2014

Day 290: Getting a baseline

The second of my running goals, if you remember, was to run a mile in 8 minutes.  Honestly, the last time I did such a thing was probably in 1993.  But nonetheless.  Since I have been working on the 5k time for awhile, I haven't really run one single mile to test out where I currently stand.  So today I thought I would give it a go.  I learned a few things.

1)  next time pick a route with no uphills
2)  also pick a route where there is no crossing the street wildly in front of traffic so as to not mess up your time
3)  it's too cold for me.  I'm still thawing.
4)  I'm still not as fast as I was when I was 10 or 16

But I did it.  I think I probably could have gone a smidge faster, but for a baseline run, I did ok.  8 minutes and 35 seconds.  Maybe I'll try once or twice more if the weather warms up again, but I have a feeling that we are mostly on pause with this until spring.  Now, who can tell me how to shave 35 seconds off of a mile?

No comments:

Post a Comment