Thursday, February 27, 2014

Day 47: Flexi Friday/Thursday Night


I used to hate yoga. I always found it to be too easy (like I wasn't realllly getting a workout), and TOTALLY boring. Have you ever done other yoga dvds? Or even yoga classes at the YMCA or other places? Snoozefest. It just never did it for me. But I am finding myself waking up on Wednesdays so excited that it's yoga day! This is the first yoga workout that I have found challenging and interesting. I may become a yoga convert. Who knew there was yoga like this!  
And so... a different type of flexi today (pics from my Wed yoga workout):



                                        Figure 4                                              Crow

                        Does this one have a name?                              Plow stand?
              Standing there holding your leg straight out?


Plow - This is one of my favorites.  I could stay there all day.  Feels good on my back.


This one is crazy.  I held this for at LEAST 0.7 seconds.  And you're supposed to be able to hold your leg straight out in back there.  Mmmm hmmm.  I'm working on it.  

For the sake of keeping it real though, most of my attempts end like this:



In fact, I have started putting a pillow there where my head will inevitably come crashing down at some point.


And I will leave you with one regular flexi picture from today - Look at how close I'm getting!!  Whoot.


Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Day 44 - P90X3 Update

I'm currently in the middle of week three of my P90X3 challenge and I have to say, I'm loving it.  It's right up my alley for several reasons.  First of all, I can do it at home.  Nothing is more of a waste of time to me than driving back and forth to the gym.  So I'm thrilled that I don't have to even leave my house in the cold morning to get this done.  I can flail around in my own living room and laugh at myself trying to be agile but not actually care that I never will be.  I know that I'm doing all of the movements so who cares that I look like an epileptic spider while trying.  Yes, my family laughs at how awkward and gangly I am.  Nope, I don't care.  Secondly, each day is a new exercise.  I'm easily bored, so I love that.  You do end up repeating the workouts, but not so often that you're bored with them. Thirdly, I can actually see changes already.  There is no doubt about it, I'm getting stronger.  I can see it, and I can feel it.  And lastly, I'm loving the facebook accountability group that I joined.  It's great for me to hear that I'm not the only one falling over backwards while trying to hold some of the poses.  Or being so out of breath by the end of the cardio type workouts that I can't actually speak to anyone for a good ten minutes.  So that's my review.  Two very awkward and gangly thumbs up.

Sunday, February 9, 2014

Day 28 - Crazy?

It's possible that I've gone nutsy.  It's possible.  A friend of mine from high school (bacckkkk in the dayyyy...) has been a Beachbody Coach for awhile now.  Beach Body is the company that does all of the Insanity, Combat, and Pump programs that everybody knows and loves.  And I'm always so impressed with what she has been doing.  She posted a few weeks ago that she was starting a new accountability group soon.  So I signed up.  Accountability is what I need.  That's why I started this blog after all.  So I'm in for it.  Did all the pretests (not so bad), took all the measurements, got all my equipment ready.   P90X3 starts tomorrow.  90 days of hard core exercise.  And accountability.  So if you see me in a few days and I can't walk, you'll know why.  Wish me luck.



Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Day 23: Blech

What do you do when you're trying really hard to get to the gym every day and life just isn't having it?  These last few weeks have not been so great for me.  I have had an ongoing case of bronchitis which is making the running even that much harder to keep up with.  I have (finally) been to the jaw specialist who has put me on drugs that make me feel like a walking zombie.  And I have a close family member entering hospice.  This morning, my youngest woke at 4 am with a horrible migraine and stayed up until 6 in pain.  And my migraines have been terrible this past month or so.  When it rains....

But I'm trying to compensate in other ways.  I've been doing my yoga and pilates videos when I just can't get to the gym and I've kept up with my daily planking (up to 3 1/2 minutes) and stretching.

And I don't mean to complain.  I know that my life is immensely easier than many, many others.  It's just a question really.  What do you do with your health routines when your life is in a little bit of a rut?  Inspire me.  Please.